√√ Virginia {WINDOW TINT} Laws For Out Of State Drivers | Home Car Window Glass Tint Film Virginia {WINDOW TINT} Laws For Out Of State Drivers

Virginia Car WINDOW TINTING Laws For Out Of State Drivers

Virginia window tint laws for out of state drivers - Tint darkness for sedans: Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line. Front Side windows: Must allow more than 50% of light in. Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in. Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in. No sun-shading or tinting films may be applied or affixed to the rear side windows or rear window or windows of any motor vehicle operated on the highways of this Commonwealth that reduce the total light transmittance of such window to less than 35 percent.

Any person or firm who applies or affixes to the windows of any motor vehicle in Virginia sun-shading or tinting films that (i) reduce the light transmittance to levels less than that allowed in subdivisions 1 and 2, (ii) have a reflectance of light exceeding 20 percent, or (iii) produce holographic or prism effects is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor for the first offense.

Here is an interesting twist on situations like this. In this case, a Virginia cop claims to have the authority to write up a tint violation ticket based on the out of state vehicle’s state tint laws rather than the Virginia tint law. An ex-cop clarifies that the Virginia State Trooper has the authority to write the ticket based on VA tint laws, but not on the out of state laws.

I hereby acknowledge that Virginia Code §46.2-1053 only authorizes the application of tint to the windows and windshield of any motor vehicle up to the total levels provided in the "Sun Shading Allowances" table above. I also understand that any recommendation for darker tint will subject the vehicle and its owner to a Virginia Code violation.

Re: Ticketed for Window Tint for an Out-of-State Vehicle The vehicle is a company vehicle (Registered under a company) but I am listed as a driver in the insurance policy. I notified the officer that the car is registered in NC, and NC laws allow these tints, but he did not care and proceeded to issue me the ticket regardless.

In the absence of an AS-1 line, sun shading material on the windshield displaying words, lettering, numbers or pictures cannot extend more than three inches downward from the top of the windshield, unless authorized by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle registration.

Windowtintlaws aims to provide accurate and updated information on Car Window Tinting Laws in the United States. Every state has different laws, rules, regulations and guidelines and we are offering concise data for legally allowed window tint darkness and reflection. Such sun-shading or tinting film when applied to the windshield of a motor vehicle shall not cause the total light transmittance to be reduced to any level less than 70 percent except for the upper five inches of such windshield or the AS-1 line, whichever is closer to the top of the windshield.

Virginia window tint law allows the following darkness for car window tinting The darkness of tint is measured by (VLT%) Visible Light Transmission percentage. In Virginia window tint law, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed to pass through the combination of film and the factory tint of the window.

Window Tint Laws By State. Anyone who has looked into automotive window tint laws knows it’s a complicated affair. Tint laws vary by state and can be significantly different from one state to the next. These laws are also updated from time to time, and the wording can sometimes leave things open for interpretation.

How dark can window tint be in Virginia. Darkness of tint is measured by Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%). In Virginia, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed in through the combination of film and the window. So I was courteously handed my 2nd tint ticket in Virginia. I have 35% on all windows. First time i was pulled over the meter read 11%.. and just yesterday I got 16%. After such frustration with these tint tickets I researched methods to legally have dark tints in Virginia.