California window tint law percentage - Tint darkness for sedans: Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield. Front Side windows: Aftermarket film must allow more than 88% of light in, or minimum 70% VLT if combined with factory-tinted windows. Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.
The state of California has very specific laws regarding window tinting on your car. Every state in the United States has its own percentage of darkness.
The front passenger side windows, however, can't be too dark; they must allow 70% of visible light (VLT) to pass through them. The top few inches of the front windshield can also be tinted.
Restrictions are measured by the Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%) and the number of inches covered by tint on the windshield. Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield. Front Side Windows: VLT% must allow 70% of light into the vehicle.
California Tint Law Enacted: 1999. How dark can window tint be in California ... In California, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed.
The window tint films come in different percentages. In California therefore, the law will require you to have dual side mirrors in case.
The darkness of tint is measured by (VLT%) Visible Light Transmission percentage. In California window tint law, this percentage refers to percentage of visible.
Find out how California Window Tinting Laws affect you. ... VLT is almost always measured in percentage, with 100% allowing all the light.
In California, it's illegal to tint either windshield (except for the strip at the very top), and the windows next to the driver and front-seat passenger.
As with many regulations, window tinting laws vary state by state and can be nuanced and hard to ... This is the percent of visible light that gets through either the film (film VLT%) or window plus film net VLT%. ... California, 70%, ANY, ANY, 4".
State law says front side windows must let at least 70 percent of light in, ... The way Andrew Gade sees it, cops enforce California's tint law.
Find information on car window tint laws by state in the US and which automotive window tint percentage is legal in your state.
California. Window tinting is permitted only for the side windows to the rear of the ... of visible light of more than 25 percent as measured on the non-film side.