Section 375 (12-a) of the NYS Vehicle and Traffic Law does not allow a windshield or front side windows that are dark. The windshield and front side windows cannot block more than 30% of the light. Seventy percent or more of the light from the outside must pass through the window.
Ok, so you are not happy with the new law that says your car windows cannot be tinted as dark as you would like them? The New York law.
New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law does not allow a windshield or front side windows to block more than 30 percent of the light coming into a vehicle, meaning that 70 percent or more of the light from the outside must pass through the window.
Up to date car tint laws in New York (NY). Don't get fined and read latest New York auto window tinting laws, rules, regulations and guidelines.
New York State law already required a 70-percent visible light transmission (VLT) or higher, one of the highest VLT requirements of any state.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint on the top 6 inches of the windshield is allowed. Front Side Windows: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
Specific provisions for New York's tint laws may be found in Section 375 (12-a) of the Vehicle and Traffic consolidated laws. The window tint laws in New York State.
How dark can window tint be in New York. Darkness of tint is measured by Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%). In New York, this percentage refers.
The new window tint law started on Jan. ... on your vehicle, you can tint the rear doors and the rear section, according to New York state law.
All About the NY Window Tint Law. One of the nicest luxuries available in modern vehicles is the ability to choose the level of light in your car.
We reported in December on a new law regulating window tint going into effect this month. When you bring your car for a NYS Inspection.
The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles has released a new video designed to educate consumers on New York State's new window tint law.