While it is a Class 3 misdemeanor to apply tinting to the window of a vehicle that is subject to a safety inspection in North Carolina if the tint does not comply with the restrictions of G.S. 20-127, a person easily could purchase a car with after-market tint that has been lawfully applied in another state.
Tinted windows cannot measure darker than 32 percent with a North Carolina-approved window tint meter. The tint on a windshield cannot extend more than 5 inches below the top of the windshield or below the AS1 line of the windshield, whichever is longer.
Sorry to say that you are stuck peeling it off or having it re-done. nc is one of the worst states regarding window tinting regulations.
I just got our 2013 minivan inspected for the first time, they charged me $40 total, $10 of that was WINDOW TINT. This van has the factory tint.
I really want to go with 20% tint on my 525i but in my state (NC), 35% is the legal ... How would I get my car inspected with 20%? Thanks ... say they will fail a car with a over-dark tint if they drive in with all their windows down.
I bought a Prius w/tinted windows at Anchor in Fuquay Varina last year - so it had to have been inspected in NC, right? Go to have it inspected.
General Discussion - How to pass an (NC) inspection with illegal window tint.... - Physically remove the windows. Took maybe an hour to get.
Up to date car tint laws in North Carolina (NC). Don't get fined and read latest North Carolina auto window tinting laws, rules, regulations and guidelines.
I have a question about state car inspections. I was charged $10 extra to check my window tint. A: L.T., the extra $10 fee is prescribed by state law - specifically N.C. General Statute 20-183.7, if you want to look it up online.
The fee for inspecting after-factory tinted windows shall be ten dollars ($10.00), and the fee applies only to an inspection performed with a light meter after.
According to the new law, the tint on your windows has to allow 70 percent of light to pass through. It's supposed to go into effect on January.
frequently asked questions for car inspections emissions and safety. ... What is the legal limit for window tint in North Carolina? All after factory tint must be.
Hey guys, I'm somewhat new to the Charlotte (Mooresville), NC area and the time has come to get my inspection done. I have my windows.
North Carolina Safety and Emission Vehicle Inspection. Contents. 1 Which vehicles get ... Emissions inspection fees, which include Safety Inspection, cost $30.00. After market window tinting cost an additional $10 for both inspections.