However, if you plan to tint your windows it's important to ensure it is done safely and in accordance with the North Carolina window tint law.
Question: I see cars with dark tint where the tint is so dark you can't see who's ... North Carolina law states, "All windows with applications.
Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 5 inches. Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in. Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in. Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Vehicles with applications of after‐factory window tinting must be checked, ... charge of $10 during a North Carolina safety inspection to ensure they meet ... (rear window only), as defined in G.S. 20‐4.01 (31); Limousines; Law.
Darkness of tint is measured by Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%). In North Carolina, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed in through the combination of film and the window. Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line. Must allow more than 35% of light in.
Truck, SUV, and Vans must have a VLT of 35% on front windows and can have any darkness on the back and rear windows. North Carolina allows reflective tint, however, windows must be no more than 20% reflective.
No, the very strict North Carolina window tint law has not changed. In fact the law – with the exception of a couple of additional exemptions – has not changed.
North Carolina Window Tinting Law Enacted: 2001. We have made every effort to provide you with accurate and up to date information regarding North Carolina window tinting laws.
Driving a vehicle on a street, highway, or public vehicular area in North Carolina in violation of the window tinting restrictions set forth in G.S.
The tint on my truck is the darkest possible, but still legal. I even showed the officer my NC inspection paper and the routine maintenance.
It does have window tint that is apparently slightly darker than legal, but the meters used before read it as acceptable and I went on my way.
If you're thinking about opting for a reflective tint for your front windshield, think again. In North Carolina, reflective tints are only legal on side windows.
Aftermarket car window tinting is legal in North Carolina. Non-windshield windows may not be any darker than 35 percent visible light transmission.