√√ Illinois WINDOW TINT Law Medical Exemption | Home Car Window Glass Tint Film Illinois WINDOW TINT Law Medical Exemption

Illinois WINDOW TINT Law Medical Exemption

Illinois window tint law medical exemption - Medical Exceptions: Illinois does allow medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law. Penalties: Petty offense with $50-$500 fine. Second or subsequent violations are class C misdemeanor with $100 – $500 fine.

Definition: tinted window certification (625 ilcs 5/3-412 and 5/12-503) “A person owning and operating a motor vehicle, who is determined by a physician licensed to practice medicine. No colors of tint are explicitly banned. Dual side mirrors are required if back window is tinted. Manufacturers of film do NOT need to certify the film they sell in the state. No sticker to identify legal tinting is required. Illinois window tint law allows medical exemptions for special tint.

Medical exemptions are permitted. Drivers must obtain a copy of certified statement or letter from a licensed physician. Illinois laws allow systemic or discoid lupus erythematosus, disseminated superficial actinic porokeratosis, albinism, but also permit other medical conditions to obtain exemptions. Copy of certified statement must be kept in the installer’s permanent records. Medical exemptions are not given when sunglasses or other protective eye devices provide sufficient protection.

Medical Exceptions: Illinois does allow medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law. How dark can window tint be in Illinois. Darkness of tint is measured by Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%). In Illinois, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed in through the combination of film and the window. Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.

Definition (625 ILCS 5/12-503): “A person owning and operating a motor vehicle, who is determined by a physician licensed to practice medicine and is afflicted with or suffers from medical disease such as systemic or discoid lupus erythematosus, disseminated superficial actinic porokeratosis or albinism, which would require that person to be shielded from the direct rays of the sun is entitled to operate said vehicle with tinted windows.


Illinois window tint laws restrict windshield tint to top 6 inches. Front side windows, back side windows and rear window may have 35% VLT. On multi-purpose vehicles, front side windows may have 50% VLT, and back side windows and rear windshield can have any visible light transmission. There are other regulations as well, including tint reflection, restricted colors and more.

Medical Exceptions: Illinois does allow medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law. So there you have it. All states have laws that limit vehicle window tinting but in some states there are medical conditions that can exempt a driver or a "habitual passenger" from these laws. States do not have lists with specific medical conditions, but they offer forms to be filled out and signed by a physician.

The Illinois Secretary of State has changed the regulations regarding the exemption of vehicles having tinted windows. Past practice has allowed drivers to obtain an exemption by merely carrying a letter from their doctor stating that due to a medical condition the driver (or passenger) required the tint.

In the state of Illinois you can't use just any window tint film. Read about all laws, restrictions and exemptions concerning car window tinting in IL. Illinois. Illinois is easy for people who want to tint: just avoid going too dark and you'll be all set. Front side window VLT%: 35. Rear side windows. Medical Exemption: Illinois does allow medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.

Medical exemptions are permitted. Drivers should acquire a replica of licensed statement or letter from a licensed doctor. Illinois legal guidelines permit systemic or discoid lupus erythematosus, disseminated superficial actinic porokeratosis, albinism, but in addition permit other medical circumstances to obtain exemptions. Copy of licensed assertion have to be stored in the installer’s everlasting data. Medical exemptions are usually not given when sunglasses or other protective eye units.