Tinted windows law in Texas - Window Tinting Standards Window Tint Standards can be found in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 37, Part 1, Rule 21.3 . NOTE: Windows immediately to the right and left of the driver that have less than 25% light transmission will fail inspection , regardless of the year model of the vehicle. Our Texas window tint laws are valid for 2020. These laws regulate how dark and reflective your car tint may be, but also specify other rules and regulations you need to know about.
Window tint darkness in Texas. The percent of visible light allowed through your car windows is called VLT: Visible Light Transmission. The percentage of light allowed through your film and glass in Texas is very specific and different for sedan cars and SUV cars or vans. Texas Tint Laws - What does VLT Mean according to Texas State Law The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits.
For Windshields The Law Is CLEAR! Clear window tint on your windshield is perfectly legal in Texas. But what is the point of clear windshield tint? Well film technology has evolved into some really cool products. Ceramic Window Film, while 100% clear can block up to 52% of the sun's heat and nearly 100% of harmful UVA and UVB.
In Texas, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed in through the combination of film and the window. Sedan. SUV or Van. Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line. Must allow more than 25% of light in. Texas first enacted car window tinting laws in 2009. These regulations govern how tinting is applied to all of the windows on an automobile, truck, van or SUV. Some vehicles are exempt from the window tint requirements imposed by Texas law.
The Texas tint law for the sides of a non commercial vehicle are simple. The front two doors must have a net ( tint film plus glass ) visible light transmission of at least 25%. There are no darkness restrictions on windows located behind the front two doors, as long as the vehicle is equipped with side view mirrors.
Coloring or tinting of windshields and the windows to the immediate right and left of the driver is allowed, provided the parallel luminous transmittance through the colored or tinted glazing is not less than 70 percent of the light at normal incidence in those portions of the windshield or windows which are marked as having a parallel luminous transmittance of not less than 70 percent.
Texas Transportation Code § 547.613. Restrictions on Windows. (a) Except as provided by Subsection (b), a person commits an offense that is a misdemeanor: (1) if the person operates a motor vehicle that has an object or material that is placed on or attached to the windshield or side or rear window and that obstructs or reduces.
TEXAS WINDOW TINT LAW ALLOWS THE FOLLOWING DARKNESS FOR CAR WINDOW TINTING. The darkness of tint is measured by (VLT%) Visible Light Transmission percentage. In Texas window tint law, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed to pass through the combination of film and the factory tint of the window.
Window tint laws vary slightly depending on which state you live in. As a Texas resident, the most important thing you need to know when it comes to automotive window tinting laws is that your front two windows (driver and passenger side) cannot be tinted with any film darker than 25%. This means that the film on your front two windows must allow 25% or more light to pass through.
Color: The state laws on tint color vary from no restrictions at all to restrictions on the use of certain colors or reflective/mirrored finishes. AS-1 Line: This is the line extending from the letters AS-1, found on most motor vehicle windshields, running parallel to the top of the windshield. Window Tint Color. By the Texas window tint law, you can choose almost all of the colors for your car windows except red, amber, and blue. Film Certifications. Before applying the window tint film onto your vehicle, you need to find out if a film manufacturer has a certification in the state of Texas.