-->
Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Tennessee Window Tint Laws For Trucks

Tennessee Window Tint Laws For Trucks. In Tennessee, you must allow 35% of light in the front and back side windows and the rear window. Window Tint Colors: Window tint comes in a variety of different colors. Though we prefer the classic, smoke colored window tint, you are allowed to go color crazy in Tennessee. No window tint colors are banned, allowing you to bring as much color as you want to your car. In Tennessee window tint law, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed to pass through the combination of film and the factory tint of the window. Darkness of tint is measured by Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%).

Tennessee State Window Tint Laws For Trucks
Tennessee State Window Tint Laws For Trucks (Jeffery Watkins)

As a vehicle owner interested in window tinting installation, you must understand Tennessee state laws. Vehicle owners are responsible for using window film that is compliant or they are in jeopardy of breaking the law and police enforcement using penalties and fines. Tint darkness for multi-purpose vehicles: Windshield: 70% VLT permitted. Any VLT non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line. Front Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in. Back Side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in. Rear Window: Must allow more than 35% of light in.


Tennessee's law regarding civilian vehicle window tints are specific in the following: Windshield non-reflective tints are permitted above the manufacturer's AS1 line. Front, side and rear windows must allow more than a total of 35 percent of light in. Our window tinting law is a little tricky to read. I'm not an attorney.


Window tinting laws differ from state to state, are unique to each type of vehicle, and are based on percentages of light reaching through the glass. Knowing them all helps you avoid nasty fines. Read our guide for a detailed description of how tinted your windows and windshield can be in every part of the country.


TENNESSEE TINT LAW 2021 (TN) Window Tint Laws By State. Tennessee Window Tint Law – Legal Tint Limit For Multi-Purpose Vehicles. Front Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light in; any darkness on AS-1 line. (II) Notwithstanding subparagraph (I) of this paragraph (a), the windows to the rear of the driver, including the rear window, may allow less than twenty-seven percent light transmittance if the front side windows and the windshield on such vehicles allow at least seventy percent light transmittance.


Check the window tint on your vehicle. Are your vehicle windows tinted darker than Tennessee law allows? Tennessee law states that it is unlawful to operate any motor vehicle in which any window has a visible light transmittance equal to but not less than 35 percent. Request a Quote. If you would like more information on window films and window tinting in Middle Tennessee call Tint Guy, LLC or click on the link below to request a free, no-obligation quote. Or visit us at 340 Westgate Blvd, Suite 104, Murfreesboro, TN 37128 today!


Car Tint Law – Window Tinting Laws Explained. CarTintLaw.com is created to inform you about the latest and updated car tint laws and regulations in your state of residence within United States. We are dedicated to collecting accurate, up to date and easy to understand information from latest state laws to help you choose the legally correct window tinting.


There are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Tennessee so make sure you read all about it below. We Have The Films You Need For Your Car, Truck Or SUV Click For Kits or Rolls. Tennessee Laws And Tint Percentage Information As a vehicle owner interested in window tinting installation, you must understand Tennessee state laws.